As well as the Towns and Villages, Beautiful Fife Gardens aims to recognise the efforts made by individuals to improve their own gardens.


  • Flower Floral-mainly consists of flower beds containing annual (plants which complete their life cycle in the same year) bedding plants set in lawns/hard surfaces. Often formal but not exclusively.
  • Flower Landscaped-mainly planted with perennial (plants which last through the year and grow again next spring) shrubs and trees. May contain other permanent features such as rockeries, water pools/fountains and hard landscaped areas.
  • Vegetable-Five varieties of vegetable will be counted when judging and recognition will be taken of cropping schemes including those vegetables which have been lifted and stored. Vegetable allotments are included in this category.
  • Hanging Basket/Container– would be displayed as a single basket or container or group of baskets and/or containers.
  • Mixed Garden-Would consist of at least five varieties of vegetables plus flowers (either formal/landscaped/containers) as described above.

Disability– If you have marked that you consider you have a disability, the judges will be advised of this and take this into consideration when judging your garden.

Area Sectors 

  •  Ballingry, Lochore, Crosshill, Glencraig, Lochgelly & Lumphinnans.
  •  Kelty, Cowdenbeath, Hill of Beath & Crossgates.
  • Dalgety Bay, Aberdour, Inverkeithing, Hillend & North Queensferry.
  • Dunfermline Area- Dunfermline, Milesmark, Parkneuk, Wellwood, Townhill, Kingseat, Crossford, Rosyth, Charlestown & Limekilns.
  • West Fife Villages- Valleyfield, Torryburn, Cairneyhill, Crombie, Saline, Steelend, Blairhall, Comrie, Oakley, Carnock, Gowkhall, Kincardine, Tulliallan & Culross.
  • Burntisland, Kinghorn, Auchtertool, Kinglassie & Cardenden.
  • Markinch, Star, Leslie, Coaltown of Bagonie, Milton of Balgonie & Thornton.
  • Glenrothes
  • Kirkcaldy
  • Levenmouth Area- Wemyss, Buckhaven, Methil, Methilhill, Leven, Windygates & Kennoway.
  • Cupar Area- Cupar, Ceres, Craigrothie, Piscottie, Dairsie, Pitlessie, Springfield.
  • Taybridge Area- Newport, Tayport, Wormit, Gauldry.
  • Howe of Fife- Newburgh, Auchtermucty, Falkland, Freuchie, Ladybank, Kingskettle, Gateside, Collessie, Strathmiglo.
  • St Andrews, Strathkiness, Leuchars, Guardbridge, Balmullo.
  • East Neuk- Crail, Anstruther, Pittenweem, Elie, Lundin Links, St Monans, Kingsbarns, Largo, Largoward.


Each entrant will be judged only once. Area and Fife Wide results will be based upon this one visit.

Judging will take place between Monday 14th July 2014 – Friday 25th July (please note these dates may change due to extenuating circumstances- weather, sickness etc).

Area Winners

An invitation to the Annual Award Ceremony will be sent to the Area Winner of each category. The Area Winner of each category will receive a shield, medal and certificate, which will be presented at the Annual Award Ceremony.

Fife Wide Winners

There will be a Trophy Winner for each category, each winner will also receive a certificate, this will be announced and presented at the Annual Award Ceremony.

Non Area Winners

Entrants who are not an area winner but have been awarded a medal and or a certificate, this will be sent out in the post.

Margaret MacKenzie, Support Assistant

Tel: 01592 583 268  Fax: 01592 583 580  Contact Margaret MacKenzie online

By Post: Main Gate Lodge, Beveridge Park, Kirkcaldy, Fife, KY2 5LZ


Irene Williams, Support Assistant

Tel: 03451 55 55 55 + Ext 47 27 09  Fax: 01334 659 516  Contact Irene Williams online 

By Post: Rothesay House, Rothesay Place, Glenrothes, Fife, KY7 5PQ


Keith Jackson, Parks and Community Events Officer

Tel: 03451 55 55 55 + Ext 44 06 08  Fax: 01334 659516  Contact Keith Jackson online

By Post: Rothesay House, Rothesay Place, Glenrothes, Fife, KY7 5PQ